Digital Fabrication
Studio Collaborative

 makelab™ practices innovative
 architecture through
 design & digital fabrication

In 2010, founding director James Stevens PhD, AIA along with a group of Lawrence Technological University students established makeLab. The lab was founded in the belief that design cannot be separated from making. makeLab has progressed beyond teaching and includes research, industry sponsored projects, and international workshops. The makeLab now operates under a Board of Directors of makeLab almuni.


James Stevens is an Associate Professor and Director of the School of Architecture at Clemson University. Prior to his appointment at Clemson University in 2020, Prof. Stevens was Chair of the Department of Architecture at Lawrence Technological University, where he was the founding director of makeLab, the University’s digital fabrication laboratory. James is co-author of the book Digital Vernacular, Architectural Principles, Tools, and Processes (Routledge 2015) and has authored multiple peer-reviewed papers and book chapters. He is a licensed architect and certified by the National Council of Architecture Registration Boards (NCARB). He is the recipient of the AIA Henry Adams Medal for Excellence in the Study of Architecture and was the 2016 Fulbright Scholar in Albania. He holds a Ph.D. in Architecture from the University of Ferrara in Italy, where he conducted his residency and research at Polis University in Tirana, Albania. He also holds a Master of Architecture degree from North Carolina State University and a Bachelor’s in Fine Arts degree from The Savannah College of Art and Design.
Chris Westerlund is the Director and a board member of the makeLab. He has 10+ years of experince in architecure. Chris sits on the planning committee for Computational Design Detroit ( He earned a Bachelor of Science in Architecture and a Master of Architecture from Lawrence Technological University. He is an Adjunct Professor in the College of Architecture and Design at Lawrence Technological University.   

Board of Directors
James Stevens
Brent Dekryger
Pandush Gaqi
Steve Kroodsma
Janelle Schmidt

Chris Westerlund

about    publications